Browser and Search – Low Hanging Fruit

I started in the easiest place, with my browser. I installed Firefox instead of chrome and set Bing as the default search engine. There are other good options for all of these, but these were options I knew worked well and was comfortable with.

Edit:

On some wise advice I change search engines again to Duck Duck Go which is trying harder on privacy and whose results seem to work for me

6 Comments on “Browser and Search – Low Hanging Fruit”

  1. I’ve been using Firefox since its early days, and love it. While Chrome has worked well enough for me, it never did capture my appeal the way Firefox does. I haven’t used Bing much, will have to take a look.

    I look forward to seeing what else you come up with.

    • vrimj says:

      Glad for the random tip to Duck Duck Go!

      Also I should share what I learned from your stream about scrubbing search cookies for google with a firefox extension for people who still want to use google 🙂

  2. Scroogle is a search engine that will give you Google’s results without the tracking. (I mostly use Duck Duck Go, though.) Oh and Ixquick is also really serious about privacy, similar to DDG.

  3. Anonymous says:

    If you really want to divorce Google, there’s a LOT more to do in the browser space:
    First, I’d suggest blocking any and all connections to google-analytics.com since that feeds Google’s direct profit-trough (and indirectly that famous E. Schmidt arrogance).

    Ghostery is a great Firefox plugin for finding and exposing the indentity crawlers.

    I also use NoScript and HTTPS Everywhere from the EFF to close down more of the ways that your browsing habits and identity can be linked and monetized.

    Finally, look into the Privoxy and Tor projects. The Tor developers list has been an amazing goldmine of information about how entities like Google track you globally and profit from it.

    Once you start digging, you will find how deeply entrenched the Google domains are. For example, the SecondLife viewer (and likely many other networked clients) make connections to Google services internally. One lookup checks of your IP is a “safe” one according to Google. Many translators also use Google Translate API, but that is due to close in December. Search the source code of many projects and you find embedded links to Google.com sites.

    • vrimj says:

      I do use no script, but I had no thought about blocking google analytics on a more comprehensive basis. I would love to know more if you would consider sharing.


Leave a Reply

